Located in Wojska Polskiego Street, the Romani Forge is a place which commemorates the camp for Gypsies and Sinti that this place used to house for a short period of time. In November 1941, over 5 thousand Romani people originating from the Austrian-Hungarian border area were placed on this small territory designated from the Litzmannstadt Ghetto. Due to inhuman conditions and no possibilities of maintaining basic rules of hygiene, the camp was quickly overcome by the epidemics of typhus. This forced the occupants to liquidate this “ghetto inside the ghetto”, which occured on 12 January 1942.
The building of the forge standing on the territory of the former camp for Romani people became a museum in 2009. Currently it remains under the care of the Museum of Independence Traditions and it features the exhibition entitled “And the Violin Stopped Playing” documenting the extermination of Gypsies and Sinti during World War II.
In order to visit the building and the exhibition "And the Violin Stopped Playing" documenting the extermination of Gypsies and Sinti, phone arrangements must be made in advance:
42 291 36 27, 783 755 391 - Museum of Independence Traditions, Radegast Station Division
or 42 632 71 12 - Museum of Independence Traditions, Educational Division